# Alberta Whitewater Association 2015 Annual General Meeting

January 31, 2015

Bass Pro Shop, Iron Mills Shopping Centre 112-261055 Cross Iron Blvd Rocky View AB

Minutes of Meeting Recorded by Jason Gunthorpe, Secretary 2015

#### Attendees:

Mark Lund Ceyana Canoe Club

Eric Lund UAPS
Giffin Symko UAPS
Jason Gunthorpe UAPS
Christine Haylock AFKA

Dan Groeneveld ASCK, Cottonwood Kayak Club

Trevor Boyd ASCK, Waterwerks

Jeff Boyd Bow Waters Canoe Club

Emil Ohler Waterwerks

Tom Jacklin Bow Waters Canoe Club, LKRUA

Blaine Walker Paddle Junkies
Chris Chisholm Paddle Junkies
Aibert Antioquia Paddle Junkies
Nathan Muir Paddle Junkies
Mike Holroyd ASCK, Waterwerks

Hannah Penner POCC, ASCK, Cottonwood Kayak Club

Mark Taylor AWA, ASCK, Waterwerks

Chuck Lee POCC

## **Morning Discussions**

Executive Director reports and group discussion (see agenda)

#### AGM

1. Call to Order (Eric Lund)

[Secretary's Note: We did not formally confirm that quorum was met, but 9 of 17 clubs were present]

#### Annual General Meeting called to order at 1:15 PM

#### 2. Agenda Review and Approval (Eric Lund)

**Motion:** Accept the agenda as provided (+ Mark Lund + Tom Jacklin approved 1:15)

#### 3. Past AGM Minutes and Approval (Eric Lund)

Motion: Approve minutes from 2014 AGM (+ Emil Ohler + Mark Taylor approved 1:16)

#### 4. Financial reports and approval (Chuck Lee)

Review Tom Jacklin / Steve Simonds report on 2013 (1:17)

- Auditors Comments (Tom Jacklin)
- Action Item (Chuck Lee): review invoice sign off procedures for on-site work
- Discussion on increased audit coverage (Mark Lund)

Motion: Accept 2013 audited financial report (+ Mark Lund + Emil Ohler approved 1:31)

Review 2014 unaudited draft financial statements (Chunk Lee)

**Motion:** appoint Bow Waters Canoe Club as auditor for 2014 (+ Mark Taylor + Mark Lund approved 1:49)

#### 5. Club reports

Presented earlier in the day prior to the AGM

**Action Item (Chuck Lee):** Forward all reports to the Secretary

**Motion:** Adopt club reports (+ Mark Taylor + Dan Groeneveld Approved 1:50)

#### 6. Executive reports

President's Report (Eric Lund)

### 7. Chair's Report

Action Item (Chuck Lee): Forward all reports to the Secretary

Freestyle Director (Christine Haylock) 1:51

ASCK director (Dan Groeneveld) 1:55

- purchased a new van
- new bylaws, agm, new board members
- training camps and high performance program (Mike Holroyd)
- migration to winsport (Mike Holroyd)

Facilities Chair (Tom Jacklin ) 2:03

Discussed prior to the AGM

Education and Development Chair (Mark Taylor)

Canoe Polo Chair (Jean Leduc) 2:04

Delivered by email

#### 8. Executive Director's Report

As attached (Chuck Lee) 2:15

**Motion:** Accept all reports (+ Tom Jacklin + Emil Ohler Approved 2:22)

#### 9. Business from previous meetings (Eric Lund) 2:23

Membership structure review (Eric Lund + Chuck Lee)

- Fee structure open discussion
- paddle alberta vs awa insurance discussion

**Motion:** Leave membership fees at \$120.00 and \$3.50 per person (+ Dan Groeneveld + Giffin Symko Approved 2:37)

Discussion on Liability Insurance flow through to club paddlers

Action Item(Chuck Lee): Inform new insurance protocols to clubs

Canoe Meadows Campground (Eric Lund)

**Motion:** Continue operating Canoe Meadows Campground (+ Mark Taylor + Mark Lund Approved 2:41)

#### 10. New Business (Eric Lund) 2:41

- Chuck's contract (Tom Jacklin)
  - Will review in February (new board's job) (Eric Lund)
- 2015 budget (Tom Jacklin)
  - Budget review for new board in February (Eric Lund)
- Promotion efforts (Mike Holroyd)
  - General discussion

**Motion:** AWA initiate a discussion with other paddling organizations for a 2016/2017 paddling marketing program (+ Mark Lund + Tom Jacklin Approved 2:48)

## 11. Elections For 2014 Board of Directors (Eric Lund)

Carry over to complete their 2 year term:

President: Eric Lund

Recreation Development Carl Scheurman Education and Leadership: Mark Taylor

Nominations for 1 year positions:

Secretary: Jason Gunthorpe

Communications & Marketing: Matt Gregory

Nominations for 2 year positions

Facilities & Development: Tom Jacklin

Vice President: N/A Treasurer: Giffin Symko

Director at Large: Sam Khajeei

[Secretary's Note:  Due to an oversight the the Whitewater Discipline Chairs nominated by their organizations were not formally presented to the membership at the AGM. Informally these Chairs were understood by the President to be:  Slalom: Dan Groeneveld Canoe Polo: Jean Leduc Freestyle: Christine Haylock  ]
Action Item(Chris Chisholm): Will canvas for a VP Officer  Motion: Call for nominations cease (+ Mark Lund + Chris Chisholm Approved 2:58)
So elected (Eric Lund)
Meeting Adjourned (Eric Lund) 3:00
Recorded Jan 30, 2015

Jason Gunthorpe Secretary